How much of a story can you tell using comics?

Screen Shot 2013-06-18 at 7.20.54 AM http://www.passion-estampes.com/deco/dcomics-batman-robin-eng.html

How much of a story can you tell using comics? Most people read and view stories through books and don’t know about the power of comics. Just because a story isn’t told using a book doesn’t mean a story can be told at all.

The world changes and so does the style and the medium of reading and telling information. The world has changed from using only books to telling stories to a series of pictures, detailed or not, to educating the mind. Many people are shocked by the power of how pictures and words combined, yet just pictures, can educate ones mind from being totally blind of the subject.

Comics today have “become part of an expanding literary field, absorbing and redirecting the ideological, formal, and creative energies of contemporary fiction” (Chete and Dekoven 768). Yes, it’s true! Comics are starting to be used more and more as days go on. From simply telling Batman’s adventures to making fun of politics and instigating the public, comics are widely used today to show the society of the welfare of the nation and the installments of the Bat cave.

Think about it. How fun would it be to have read the whole Batman story if one had to read it through a book filled with only words? With comics, it’s much easier to be able to read the story without losing interest and thought of what may be happening. With comics, one see the “bam” and “booms” that happen every second of the fight while feeling like he or she was watching it from the sideline.

Comics not only evolved the style of reading but also evolved the human mind and for some, made it more fun to read.

 

6 thoughts on “How much of a story can you tell using comics?

  1. While you pose a good argument about the power of comics through their words and pictures, I cannot say that I agree with you when you state that “it’s much easier to be able to read the story without losing interest and thought of what may be happening” with comics. Given the choice between a book and a comic, I will always choose the book. I have been exposed to comics before throughout my childhood such as the Smurfs, Tin Tin, Batman, and many others; yet, I never really found myself able to engage with the comics. Maybe the reason for my lack of interest in comics derives from the fact that I find it very hard to connect with the characters because the majority of the time, they are going through things which I have never had to experience. It could just be that because of the novelty of this new medium, the amount of material is limited, and there are not many genres within graphic novels to choose from. I do like that comics give you a visual representation because with the characters in these stories, often times they look nothing like you or me and having an illustration helps to mold the image of the character in my head. However, having this already preconceived image limits me from being able to stretch my imagination, which is something that I find crucial in order to be able to connect with characters. While they are more fun to read with their action packed pictures and comments, I feel as though comics simplify situations too much for us and if we were to switch over to graphic novels as a means of writing, people would begin to use their minds less and less and would rather be fed information as opposed to having to think about it.

  2. I totally agree with you! I think comics are much more fun to read than novels because I love looking at the artist’s drawings and seeing the action of the “booms” and “pows”! I think people get more out of reading comic books because reading an ordinary novel can leave you with little to no imagination; whereas, comics have it painted right in front of you! I couldn’t imagine reading a Batman story in a book! Imagine trying to read the Incredible Hulk! That entire book would consist of “Hulk smash” and “Hulk angry”.
    I like how you used the quote from Chute and Dekoven, “become part of an expanding literary field, absorbing and redirecting the ideological, formal, and creative energies of contemporary fiction” because I agree that it adds a new level of reading and creativeness to the mind. Comic books aren’t read only by the younger generation, but to all. It increases the want to read which I think should always be encouraged.

  3. I totally agree with you! I love how you described the comics. It is very true that not only books tell stories. People tell stories in many different ways from a play, music or simply drawing a picture. I like how you mention that people can be totally blind on a specific subject but still grasp the main idea just by looking at the picture. This is very true because not every person can learn by just reading information out of a book. There are plenty of visual learners. Comics are very interesting to the human mind it seems like nowadays they are not only being used for entertainment but to definitely to educate a student. Just how you mention that there are plenty of comics making fun of politics but the comic has a story and facts behind that picture. You had me engage all throughout your blog I think I’ll be picking up a comic pretty soon!

  4. i really like the way you descirbe the expeience of readign a comic book.
    I actually used to think comics were just about superheroes and saving the day just pictures but then until I was in the high school. My history professor was obsessed with comics. He would have us bring one from the newspaper for show in class every day and make us write about meaning to it. He had us analyze that comics weren’t often just for entertainment they represented certain things in society the world around us. Everything basically had a double meaning. Comics can be for entertainment words picture that actually give you a story with one having to read ten pages to picture what is going on. It gives a complete image of what the writer wants the reader to see.

  5. Comic books have become almost a “middle ground” when it comes to text such as books and movies. Comics provide the reader with text and images that help the reader become a part of the story, as if he or she were watching the action happening right in front of his or her eyes. Comics have developed a way for the reader to visualize the actual interaction happening between the characters, and get a better idea of the setting and mood. I agree with the statement “How fun would it be to have read the whole Batman story if one had to read it through a book filled with only words?” It’s hard to visualize your favorite superhero rescuing his damsel in distress from the bad guy and truly get your adrenaline going. Comics have provided visuals with a “Boom!” and “Pow!” to make the reader excited about what he or she is reading. Comics have become a fun and exciting way for readers of all ages to enjoy reading while seeing the action occurring right in front of their eyes.

  6. The world of comics is becoming more popular, more so than I realized. I agree that it can be an encouraging medium for those who struggle with staying focused on pages and pages of words. Chute and DeKoven refer to these comics as “graphic narratives” because they tell their stories partly “through drawing”. With an image to describe or reinforce the script, the author can convey his exact idea to the reader. Today, more and more authors are using images because they know how powerful they are to the reader, however, I believe these comics have their place in the literary world just as written literature or poetry does. Comics may be powerful, but it really depends on the subject matter and the audience. I personally prefer fiction in written forms because then I can use my imagination to develop my own ideals rather than have them dictated for me. But in factual matter, such as science or biographies, I would not mind viewing them in comic form, that way I know right off how I am supposed to “see” the piece of literature.

Leave a Reply

