A picture is worth a thousand words.

spiegelman_maus

      https://www.google.com/#output=search&sclient=psy-ab&q=maus+comic&oq=maus+co&gs_l=hp.1.0.0l4.1794.4602.0.7347.7.7.0.0.0.0.187.1106.0j7.7.0.ernk_timediscountb..0.0…1.1.17.psy-ab.Kg3WcebYUpQ&pbx=1&fp=1&biw=1280&bih=882&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&cad=b

      We all agree to with the old saying “A picture is worth a thousand words”. One might be able to look at an image and figure out exactly what that image is trying to portray. Graphic Narrative is a great example of this, I mean think about it how many times have you decided to read a book or magazine and before you start to read the chapter you skim though the pages and look at the images. One can definitely   tell whether or not they will enjoy the book or magazine though just looking at the images. I found the article “Hillary Chute and Marianne DeKoven” to be very interesting for not only did it focus on why Graphic Narrative is important but it gave good examples to why others feel that’s it’s not as important. The reason to why Graphic Narrative is so important is because it “calls the reader’s attention visually and spatially to act, process and duration of interruption”. I find that to be very true because we are able to process a visual picture of what we are reading about.

    Most people would be able to tell the difference between a comic book and a novel. Not that either of them is more superior to the other, they both unique in their own ways. Having growing up in a different country I didn’t know much about Comic books till I moved to the United States. I read them a lot all though high school but not as much now. The reason I loved comic books is because I was always able to visualize what I was reading about. That really helped me learn new English words considering the fact that English is not my first language. That’s why I honestly believe graphic Narrative should be used more in academic systems. The Maus book is probably another great example to why graphic Narrative should be used more in academic systems for it was based on something that we all know about and most of us learn about the Holocaust in history class. This book is also translated in twenty languages which I find amazing. Some people might argue that some images are just way too dramatic to be shown which I totally understand but I honestly feel like each time we see a horrifying image we as human beings are more motivated to do something about it. To be clear that does not occur to each and every single person for we are all different. Donald Rumsfeld stated that “Words don’t do it “You read it and it’s one thing. You see the photos and you cannot help but be outraged”. I have to agree with that statement seeing images definitely plays a huge role in the emotions we feel after or how we view the situation after. So therefore comic’s books should be used more in academic programs they help us have a better visual of the actual content we are reading.

 

4 thoughts on “A picture is worth a thousand words.

  1. I do agree with a lot of what you have said ikegill14, but this is sort of new territory for me, when I was younger I did read comics in the Sunday paper but no further than that. I never had a comic book collection, never read “The Adventures Spiderman”, “The Incredible Hulk” or any of those types of actual comic books. So I am a little unfamiliar with this type of genre. But after reading “Graphic Narrative” I must admit that I am a more interested in reading “Persepolis” than when I first initially flipped through the book. I never thought of a non-fiction comic being written or other types of comic genres, so I am a little excited to see what it is all about. There was only one part of your blog that I somewhat disagree with, I can understand those who like to have pictures give you an idea of what you are reading but for me I love the idea of creating my own imagery in my head. I guess I am just a little old fashioned in that sense. But I do love looking at the wonderful comic art work done with story boards.

  2. I abosolutely understand your dissagreement and where you coming from,each and every person is diffrent.(; you and I both probably do not alot of expirence is reading comic books which is great because we get to read one for this course and i think it will be awesome! thank you so much for replying to my blog.

  3. I definitely agree with you and everyone else who thinks that a picture is worth a thousand words, because it is very true. However I think I was that one kid who never read any sort of comic book growing up. I did read the funny times in the newspaper but in my eyes that doesn’t really count as a comic book. I agree with the writer when they say graphic narration is important , for me especially growing up as a kid I wasn’t really fond of reading so books with a lot of pictures were my favorite.in many ways those graphic pictures improved my reading skills. Some people may think letting a child only look at picture book doesn’t help with their reading skills, but in my opinion that is a lie. I saw firsthand that teaching a child to read by using graphic narration is more effective. I agree with you that school should incorporated graphic narration in school academic school system. I help taught my nephew how to say his alphabet and learn his number and the way I did that was using pictures. In my experience kids learn that way when they can visualize these things.

  4. I agree that comic books/comics should be more involved in education. I do feel at a certain point they should be slowly transitioned out as you get to a higher level of education. When I was little I would always read the comics in the Sunday paper and that was really the only experience I had with them. I do feel that in subjects that I struggled in when I was younger such as science or math if they had found a way to incorporate images/comics into the subject I would have been able to better understand the processes. As you said Graphic Narrative grabs the reader’s attention visually and spatially. So I can most definitely see how placing it into the school system more will help children (who have such creative and imaginative minds) learn better.

Leave a Reply

