What?! Wikipedia is inaccurate?

photo 
 What?! Wikipedia is inaccurate?
 
    How accurate is the Internet? It honestly just depends on the resources one uses for the
 
information that is being researched. Just because it is in the Internet doesn’t mean the
 
information is valid.
 
    As surprising as it sounds Wikipedia is not a reliable source. anyone who is anyone can go
 
edit the information and it might look like its reliable when it’s not.
 
   We as a society have a tendency to run to the Internet and read the first thing to pop on or
 
 
page. But how many of us actually check if our recourses have validated information from
 
 
reliable criteria. Is the information credible are we getting information from a bloggers point of
 
view or someone who has actually done research on the subject. Sometimes we rely on
 
information we agree on instead of what is factual, because as human beings we like to hear
 
what we want. We should pay attention to what side the writer is on. We need to check if the
 
Information we look for is sponsored and whether is being sponsored how could it affect the
 
reliability of our information.
    As a student research should be done on the research we look for. To make sure we are
receiving the information we need. We want credible and reliable information; what is a paper
with just opinions and facts people say to be facts. Our information online should be as accurate
as math is.
8 thoughts on “What?! Wikipedia is inaccurate?

  1. I completely agree with you on this. When I Google something usually the first site I look at is Wikipedia. I know that it isn’t 100% reliable but I still go to it maybe because they portray the website with a reliable and professional “vibe.” The internet is very handy to find information but like you said we (in most circumstances) do not check the information we receive from the internet with a credible source. I think that the internet has let us become lazy in that way were we will just believe whatever is posted without checking out the facts in a credible way. It is easier to come by a non-credible source than it is to find a credible source. Seeing as anyone can post anything on the internet we should defiantly start checking were we getting our information from and where the site gets it from.

    • Exactly my point I get on the web and google tiny things and I read some really random things. Sometimes I have to go verify my information more than twice. And see if the person is an expert or just giving me there opinion.

  2. Reading your blog made me think back to this specific commercial when there was this girl and guy and she was questioning his actions and the information he was giving her and she asked where did you get your information from and he say the internet. She reminds him that everything said on the internet isn’t true. Which I agree with, however there still are those few people out in this world who believes that the internet is the only true reliable source. Where do people get there information from you ask. Google, Bing, and Wikipedia. In high school whenever I had to write a research paper I lived on Google, Bing, and especially Wikipedia. In my point of view Wikipedia is not reliable source I feel like any and everybody could edit this on that cite.

  3. I think you chose a good topic for your blog. Way too many people believe whatever they read on the internet; I have been guilty of this too at times. This English class we’re taking has made me take a look at the resources I’m using for information. Wikipedia is useful but not always completely accurate. I think the media picture you chose is perfect for this text. My thought is what is it going to take to get more people to realize that everything on the internet is not true. I had an experience a few months ago where a girl posted an article about a hot topic and used a resource to back up her beliefs. The author of the article admits that they weren’t an expert on the topic, however chooses to pretend to know something that she clearly didn’t know. I told my friend that the article she chose was full of deceit and false information. My friend clearly disagreed so we debated and I made my points based on facts, and all she could do was start insulting me; I think she was just being defensive but this example makes my point. We all should be more aware of the credibility of the information we absorb.

  4. It is easy to be persuaded by the things we see on the internet and to believe them. I used to think Wikipedia was an official website and then I realized that the general public has access to add, edit, or change anything posted to any of Wikipedia’s pages. I am not saying that everything on Wikipedia is falsified, but how can you tell the truth from someone’s opinion? If you want the cold hard facts, you will have to double check every fact that you find on the internet to make sure that it is true. I also agree that as humans, we tend to believe what we want to and we will use “facts” that are untrue just because we want them to be true. When writing a paper, it is important to try and leave your emotions at the door and focus on the true facts. Whether or not the facts agree with your opinion is irrelevent. I think in the end, it is better to know the truth, than continue to buy into a lie.

  5. I like this topic for your blog. When I was younger and had an question in mind, the first thing I would think to do would be to go on Google and type it in, and the first link would typically be Wikipedia glaring at me with everything I needed to know on said subject. I know it’s not 100% reliable but for the most part Wikipedia has a lot of useful information, however, it’s not a credible source, so we can’t completely trust it.
    Your comic makes the post ten-times better; I’m sure that’s really how they actually do things over at Wikipedia. What happened to actually having to look things up by going to the library and finding books with the given information? Society has become so technologically advanced that we have quickly turned lazy, looking for the easiest way to gather the information they need fast.
    Very good blog post; I agree with you completely. I could go on Wikipedia right now and change some things around, the next thing you know, I could be giving a poor sixth grader the wrong information for his history paper.

  6. The internet gives us easy access to information and we tend to choose it over more traditional sources, such as the Encyclopedia, primarily for convenience. Who is going to sit down at the library for hours at a time and flip through the volume for all things beginning with “P” to gather information about the platypus? No one will. That’s what the internet is for. Information is immediately available right at your fingertips. It’s not that people are becoming lazy when choosing to use Internet sources over books. It’s merely about keeping up with a society that has become increasingly technology-oriented. Checking sources for credibility and reliable information, though, is where people have become lazy. It’s easy to forget to check but even easier to not want to. I, myself, am guilty. Oftentimes, my logic of using Wikipedia as a resource is that it has “knows” more than I do. It’s better with Wikipedia than without Wikipedia. I agree with you that we need to verify information and check the author’s credibility. Without doing so, our society will eventually be full of misinformed people, which is, in a sense, worse than uninformed people. I took a class last semester called Patient Education. It made me aware of the number of people out there today that rely on the internet for medical and health advice instead of seeking help of a healthcare professional. Some people use the internet to look up symptoms and self-diagnose, while others use it to ask other people for their opinions on their symptoms. There could be some serious health-related consequences if one opts to skip checking for a source’s credibility and perhaps seeking advice from a healthcare professional before diagnosing themselves.

  7. You did a great job choosing this topic to talk about. I do believe that a lot of people don’t know that Wikipedia is not a great source to take information from. I am guilty of doing it when I was in high school and had to do a research paper I went on there and got some information and then my English teacher told me that wasn’t a great source I should be using, because anyone from anywhere can go in that website and edit if they like. This English class has helped me better understand what website is good and which website are bad to use when I am looking for a source. A lot of people are now going to the internet and finding their sources and not thinking twice to go look at their resources and make sure they are valid. People that are looking up information on the internet need to start checking and making sure they are valid and make sure that it’s the right source to take and put it in your paper.

Leave a Reply

