I Was Wrong

Photo credit: flickr user Exif (click image for source)

When I was in high school, I assumed that each of my classmates would go to college. I only had sixty-five students in my graduating class, and only about half would go straight to college. Why did I think college was the only option? Both my parents graduated from college, and the only question my siblings and I wondered about was which college we would attend. The thought of not going to college never entered my mind.

One of my friends went into the Navy. At the time, I thought he chose to go into the military because his grades weren’t good enough to attend college. I was a cocky eighteen-year-old, and I assumed he would go to college if he could. Other students chose to work after college or join humanitarian organizations. I didn’t understand it.

Looking back now, I realize that I was totally wrong. My basic assumptions about education were way off. My friends who joined the military, got jobs, or volunteered with humanitarian organizations gained life experiences and education that I will never possess. I don’t know if they went to college later or not. What I do know now is that college is not a requirement for success.

In 2008, Robert Perry reminded us the “the U.S. Department of Labor reports that the country needs more graduates if we are to keep up with, let alone lead, other nations in the global economy” (625). He also says that by 2012 “there will be three million more jobs requiring bachelor’s degrees and not enough college graduates to fill them” (625). Did we graduate enough students to fill these needs last year? Maybe. (I’m guessing we didn’t.) Whatever ended up being true, the answer is not to force everyone to go to college. College isn’t for everyone, and there are myriad ways to live life honorably without attending college. In my opinion, our culture puts too much value on money, graduates, and jobs. We ought to spend more time thinking about the benefits of culture, community, and peace.

2 thoughts on “I Was Wrong

  1. I love your statement, “What I do know now is that college is not a requirement for success.” I definitely agree!

  2. Marsha Dawkins
    In response to your blog about, “I was wrong”. How would you explain the years that you have spent in college? Do you think that going to college have make you a better person? If you did not attend college at the time you did, do you think that you would have the desire to go?
    I agree with your statement about “college is not for everyone”. College can be every stressful an time consuming at sometimes. All people in spite of their physical ability are capable of learning in some form or another. But not everyone has the proper work ethics to complete the requirement of pursuing a college degree. You referred to some of you friends not going to college after high school. I would assume, that even though some of them did not attend college, I bet some of them are living a very successful and happy life, by the choices that they have made earlier in their lives. For those that might have decided later to go to college, that is going to be a fulfilling feeling for them, to have an opportunity to go a place of higher learning whether as a full-time student of part-time .
    If the word force is depending that more people attend college to get a bachelors, I do think that more people should be motivate to go to college in order to improve the work force environment. The more qualified educated people they are in our society the better I will be socioeconomically.

Leave a Reply

