Don’t Abandon Ship

Sacred (adjective): regarded with reverence.

This is what marriage used to be, it was viewed as something that was not to be taken lightly. No longer. Now, many people meet someone, discover that they “click”, and get married; a few years down the road, maybe after a couple kids come along, they hit a bump in the road. Instead of getting counseling or even just trying to work through it on their own they take the easy way out: divorce. “Half a century ago, divorce was almost unheard of; marriage was meant to last until death, not until the going got tough.” Why is it that marriage is not as important anymore? Some people might say that it’s because all things tend toward entropy or disorder. But why do all things tend toward disorder? I believe that it’s because we are sinful human beings in need of some serious help. Revising the no-fault divorce laws might help in decreasing the divorce rates but it doesn’t get at the heart of the issue: that often people who want to end their marriage don’t want to admit that they are in the wrong as well as their spouse. They don’t want to go to the trouble of working through it, they just want the easy way out, abandoning ship. If they would get counsel and work through the problem their marriage would be stronger than before.

4 thoughts on “Don’t Abandon Ship

  1. I agree 100%! Marriage is to be viewed as sacred. It was what God intended between husband and wife. Society ,and the media make marriage out as nothing. Marriage is something very serious and not to be entered into lightly, like it is something to do. Most people won’t even touch on the topic of marriage. Good Job!

    • Thanks for commenting! Thanks for the encouragement too, I have to admit that I was really nervous about this post but I felt like I should write it anyways. 🙂

  2. I agree too. It hurts me to see people give up so easily. We owe God so much and then there is an amount of people in this world that are all about themselves. If we actually care about something and look out for other people then I am sure the world would obviously be a better place. It makes me wonder if we understand the word love anymore. Something else you could use this to think about is how much do we really love our family? Imagine a fight breaks out between someone you care about and you choose to stop loving them because of some stupid disagreement. Even if people hate him God loves them back even more than their hate. Now that I think about it there is a certain phrase I haven’t heard in a while. That phrase is “unconditional love”. Now I would love to write more about all this and believe me I could go on but I need sleep. Thank you for this post. It moves me.

    • I know, unconditional love has become such a trite phrase and it shouldn’t! Unconditional love is the only reason that there are still humans on this earth and yet we disregard God’s love for us and treat the abilities He has given us (like the ability to love others) as if they are just another hobby. Thanks so much for commenting!

Leave a Reply

