Work + College

When I first started to attend college, I was stuck in a “high-school” state of mind. Basically, I wasn’t focused. I didn’t have an overall goal in mind, I didn’t understand the significance of an education in connection to my future, and I didn’t appreciate the opportunity that college presented me. I just went to school because I knew it was what I was “supposed” to do, and my dad would disown me if I stopped going. So, due to my immature state of mind in regards to my education, my attention naturally settled on other things. Work, relationships, and leisure time were all at the top of my list, while studying, learning, and participating in campus life were afterthoughts.
It wasn’t until I began to live on my own and support myself that the necessity for an education really began to dawn on me. I’m fortunate in my employment; I have flexible hours and good pay for a college student. However, there is no upwards mobility in my current position, and I’m no longer learning anything new. This stagnancy led me to really ponder on what exactly it meant to have an education, and how it could open up new opportunities for me. I began to realize the connection between establishing a stable, balanced regimen for school, and how that discipline would transfer into my career. And I asked myself: would I want to treat my career as I am treating my education right now?
The answer to that was simple; nope. So I made the commitment to my education, a little bit later than I would have liked, but more enlightened than I was when I first graduated high school. I prefer it this way; the focus on my education is a choice I’ve made myself, rather than one I made out of fear of my parent’s or society’s disapproval. Because I’ve made the choice myself, I truly appreciate it, and can understand the gravity of the decision I’ve made.

2 thoughts on “Work + College

  1. I really liked this blog post because it is so true. I have been told my whole life that education is one of the most important parts of your life because it can open up many possibilities in your life. This has never happened to me personally but I have seen friends in high school that think they have to have a part time job. Then their grades suffer so they quite there job, and in a small period of time look for another job because they need money. It’s like a cycle. In college I know some people have to have a job to support themselves and sometimes a family, but if you have a part time job that isn’t going anywhere and you just have it to have a little extra cash in your pocket, then the job isn’t worth it. Another example is my older brother is going to chiropractic school right now, and him and his wife decided that since he goes to school full time she is going to pay the bills. Now my brother is mostly focusing on school he can get really good grades and in the future make better money when he is a chiropractor. Focusing more on school may seem hard in the moment but will pay off in the end.

  2. I unlike Kris knew exactly what I wanted when I got to college. I plunged right in and worked my tail off to accomplish that end goal. Now a year after I started college I start to wonder why I spend so much time and energy on college. Though I started out college with a different attitude I have ended up where Kris started, unsure. I am unsure about how college will help me eventually achieve my end goal. So even though we may start college differently one day we will all have learn to understand what the real value of a college education is.

Leave a Reply

